The rugged beauty of Wollondilly is a feature of the drive between Appin and Douglas Park, through Broughton Pass and crossing the Cataract River.
The Historic Appin Driving Tour Brochure highlights historic Appin buildings and drive through Appin and surrounds. The brochure is free and available from the Wollondilly Visitor Information Centre.
Named after the village of Appin in Scotland, Appin was the fifth village in the colony. The town dates back to 1811 and as such, offers visitors a chance to view several early buildings including Appin public school which was the first school built under Henry Parkes’ Public Schools Act.
This historic town, named after the village of Appin in Scotland, dates back to 1811 and was the fifth village in the colony. In 1824, explorers, Hume and Hovell commenced their expedition to Port Phillip from this district and a monument stands on the road from Campbelltown commemorating the commencement of that journey. Appin offers the visitor a chance to view several early buildings including the Appin public school, the first school built under Henry Parkes’ Public Schools Act.
Population (as at Census 2011): 1,803
Height above sea level: 150 metres
RV Dump Points
Wollondilly Shire Council is pleased to provide an RV Dump Point at Appin Park Reserve- 100 Appin Road, Appin (no overnight stay facilities available)