Dating back to c.1838/39, St Mathews Anglican Church has been a part of The Oaks community for centuries. The humble wooden church was built by the families of John Wild of Vanderville and Major Russell for the Orthez for their servants and families.
Originally constructed of locally sourced timber, archival imagery of the church shows it was constructed in an L shape, but after damage caused by white ants extensive renovations in 1923 saw the church altered into its rectangular form.
St Matthews undertook another face lift in 1982 by The Oaks Historical Society volunteers who ensured the historic building was kept preserved.
The cemetery surrounding St Matthews is home to some unique headstones, including of First Fleeter Henry Kable and caskets removed from Burragorang Valley before it was flooded for the Warragamba Dam.